You Know You're All Grown Up When…

{{Potd/2005-11-24 (en)}}

Image via Wikipedia

I’m having Thanksgiving at my house this year. Not a boozy, let’s experiment with turducken and meat pies free-for-all but an actual sit down, family coming over Thanksgiving. This is my first one but it will not be my last as I just realized that the power balance in who visits whom has switched thanks to my second child.

There’s an unwritten rule (but somebody really should write it down) that the household with the most family members gets to stay put. With my older brother choosing to skip the whole baby thing and my sister-in-law busy with social justice and making the world better place (thanks Amy!) we’re the only breeders on both sides of the family and that means we are it.

This could be a very good thing, or a very bad thing. I’m being optimistic about the big dinner from a small kitchen though, and reminding myself how we don’t have to trudge through the airport with more bags than people. And luckily my obsession with food blogs has given me a wide range of wow-factor side dishes to produce and my CSA is giving me a farm fresh turkey – so really, I’m halfway there already. Right? Right????

So when did you start being the go-to for the family celebrations? Or are you still riding mom and dad’s coattails? If so, is that a good thing or do you wish you could just stay home for once and make the family mountain come to your Mohammad? And if you’re already feeling the Thanksgiving stress, blow off some steam with this craziness.

This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Know You're All Grown Up When…

  1. montanajustin says:

    Living pretty far from each of our siblings, we’re still not at the point where we draw in our immediate family members…but we have become a stable hub for Thanksgiving amongst our friends in the Bay Area (like you, my wife’s love of cooking blogs and books has given her an edge here…).
    Ironically, being vegan has only strengthened our draw for “Turkey-day”. Check out the menu:
    http://bitemevegan.blogspot.com/

  2. Jen Doll says:

    I would still ride the coattails if I could but my parents decided to leave the continent for the holiday, without any of us (adult) kids in tow. Not sure if that means I’m grown up or not!

  3. dreamking says:

    This will be the first year we’re hosting thanksgiving at our place. There was some un-muted hostility from a divorced single (unpleasant) parent of my spouse, already feeling the short-shrift, and panicking over the idea that her slice of the holiday pie was at risk of shrinking further. Fun, fun…

    We have a turkey roasting pan, given as a wedding gift, that hasn’t seen any use. It only took a 3 year old and a 2 year old to finally break it out of the box.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention April Peveteaux - Mother'ish Brooklyn – You Know You’re All Grown Up When… - True/Slant -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

